Accessibility Links

WhatsApp is sharing your information with Facebook. So how can you opt-out?

Posted by: Megan Troster
30/08/2016

A few days ago WhatsApp announced a huge change in its privacy policy and as a result, all of us using WhatsApp have noticed a new notification message when chatting through the app which looks like this:
“WhatApp is updating our Terms and Privacy Policy to reflect new features like WhatsApp calling. Read our Terms & Privacy Policy and learn more about the choices you have. Please agree to the Terms and Privacy Policy by 25 September 2016 to continue using WhatsApp.”

IF YOU’RE NOT SURE WHAT THAT MEANS, PLEASE DON’T AGREE RIGHT AWAY! Instead, tap to read more.

This is the first time that the company has changed its privacy policy since the firm was bought by Facebook in 2014.

According to WhatsApp blog the app will start sharing data such as users’ phone numbers and other information about the people who use the service with Facebook, but said it would not share the contents of messages, which are encrypted.

The company also says that the information will be used for ads on Facebook and WhatsApp, as well as helping to improve the messaging platform. Moreover, the updated privacy policy paves the way for businesses to send messages to WhatsApp users for example, communications typically sent via SMS text message such as airline flight alerts or bank balance updates, could be sent via WhatsApp instead.

All of this is already causing changes in the user’s behaviour, with some of them feeling betrayed by the move. Others might consider it will give them a better service, whereas some may be concerned by the lack of control.

SO HOW CAN WE BLOCK THE SHARING DATA? 

There are two main ways of opting out of the new terms:

  1. If you haven’t agreed the new terms yet, tap the read more option and un-tick the box that says “Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook”. Remember that this data sharing is a default option added on by WhatApp, but you can now toggle it off.
  2. If you’ve already accepted those new terms, you can still opt out – as long as it’s by the 25th September 2016. You can do this by heading to the settings menu in the app and selecting the account tab, here you’ll find a “share my account info” button that you can deselect and revoke your permission.

The company said it would test ads and marketing messaging features in the coming months, but promised to avoid a "spammy experience" where people are inundated with ads, and said it would not display so-called banner ads in its app.

 

 

Add new comment
*
*
*